USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Monday, July 4, 2011

Gawain Jones wins Commonwealth Chess Championship 2011

Chess blog for latest chess news and chess trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2011

Hi everyone,

Congratulations to GM Gawain Jones for winning the Commonwealth Championship with a score of 9.5/11. He won on tie-break as GM Nigel Short had the same points. 

The Commonwealth Chess Championships took place from June 25 to July 4 in the Emperors Palace Hotel Casino & Convention Resort in the City of Ekurhuleni in Gauteng, South Africa. The event, an 11-round Swiss, also featured the South African Open Chess Championships. There were over 700 participants with more than 40 titled players, headed by three-time champion GM Nigel Short from England. 

You can access the official website here and find some news on and as there was some difficulty in data dissemination. 

From Alexandra Kosteniuk´s
Also see her personal blog at



Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home