USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Sri Lanka Chess: Isuru Alahakoon, Sachini Ranasinghe win National Chess Titles

Chess Blog for Daily Chess News and Trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2013

Hello everyone,

Isuru Alahakoon of Sri Lanka Navy has won the country's national chess championship for the second consecutive year. Prasanna Kurukulasuriya led up to the penultimate round, but he lost to a weaker opponent. Isuru continued to play with confidence and won the title with 8.5 points over 13 rounds. He tied with Prasanna, but won on better tiebreak.

In the women's section WIM Sachini Ranasinghe won the title with 12 points over 13 rounds. She only lost to WIM Nelunika Methmani in the penultimate round, but picked up her third consecutive national title of her total four national title wins. Nelunika Methmani was second. Shelani De Silva was third.

The Sri Lanka National Chess Championships were held from September 27-October 7 at the National Institute of Sports Science, Colombo.

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal chess blog
Don't miss Chess Queen™
YouTube Channel

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home