USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Sunday, May 27, 2012

India Chess National Challengers R11 - Four share lead

Chess blog for latest chess news and chess trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2012

Hi everyone,

Here is some chess news from the Indian National Challengers Chess Championship - 50th edition! The championship is headed for an exciting finish as youngster Abhilash Reddy beat overnight and sole leader G Akash. Two other results added to the list of leaders. After 11 rounds, four players including Akash and Reddy are now sharing the lead with 8.5 points each.

In other important results, Diptayan Ghosh defeated fourth seed International Master P Karthikeyan and Debashis Das drew with S Satyapragyan. There are 29 players in the second spot with 7.5 points each.

Important Results Round 11: G Akash of Tamilnadu (8.5) lost to Abhilash Reddy M L of Andhra Pradesh (8.5); IM Debashis Das of Odisha (8.5) drew with IM S Satyapragyan of Odisha (7.5); FM Diptayan Ghosh of West Bengal (8.5) beat IM Karthikeyan P of PSPB (7); Ram S Krishnan of Tamilnadu (7.5) drew with IM Saptarshi Roy of Railways (7.5); IM Suvrajit Saha of Railways (7.5) v IM Sudhakar Babu of Indian Bank (7.5); IM Singh D P of Railways (7.5) drew with FM Rajesh VAV of Tamilnadu (7.5); IM Dinesh Sharma of LIC (7) v S Ravi Teja of Andhra Pradesh (7); Arun Karthik R of Tamilnadu (7.5) drew with Sanjay N of Karnataka (7.5); IM Praveen Kumar C of Railways (7.5) drew with IM Ramnathan Balasubramaniam of Railways (7.5); Sohan Phadke of Maharahstra (7.5) drew with Bitan Banerjee of West Bengal (7.5); IM Murali Krishnan B T of Railways (7.5) drew with Aravind Shastry of Karnataka (7.5); K Praneeth Surya of Andhra Pradesh (7.5) drew with IM Atanu Lahiri of LIC (7.5); Sidhant Mohapatra of Odisha (7.5) drew with CRG Krishna of Andhra Pradesh (7.5); Shashikant Kutwal of Railways (7.5) drew with IM Rahul Shetty of Air India (7.5); IM Swayams Mishra of Odisha (7.5) beat Rajib Dhar of Assam (7); Narayanan S L of Kerala (7) drew with Prince Bajaj of Delhi (7); IM Girinath PDS of Railways (7) drew with IM Koshy Varugeese of PSPB (7); Pratik Patil of Maharashtra (7.5) beat IM Rahul Sangma of Railways (6.5); Sagar Shah of Maharashtra (7.5) beat Chandrashekhar Gokhale of Air India (6.5); Anurag Mhamal of Goa (7.5) beat Matta Vinay Kumar of Andhra Pradesh (6.5); Chakravarti YVK of Andhra Pradesh (6.5) lost to Syed Anwar Shazuli of Railways (7.5); Thanki Hemal Karsanji of Gujarat (6.5) lost to Arindam Mukherjee of Railways (7.5); IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni of Railwyas (6) lost to Utkal Ranjan Sahoo of Odisha (7); IM Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury of Railways (7) beat Niranjan Navalgund of Tamilnadu (6); FM Rengarajan Srinivasan of LIC (6.5) drew with IM P Konguvel of PSPB (6.5).

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal blog at

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home