USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Friday, May 18, 2012

CJA Chess Journalists of America 2012 Awards - Call for Entries

Chess blog for latest chess news and chess trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2012

Hello everybody!

It's the time of the year many of you are waiting for, time to apply for prestigious CJA Awards!

The Chess Journalists of America, via its Chairman of the CJA Awards Committee and Chief Judge Joshua Anderson, once again sends out a call for nominations to its Annual Chess Journalists of America Chess Journalism Awards.  The CJA awards honor the best in all facets of chess journalism.  From journalism in print to those written and published online, the most excellent in chess articles, columns, photojournalism, infographics, layout and online are honored within their respective categories.  Recognized annually by their peers, the public and members of CJA, the prestigious awards showcase work in the categories listed below which were published between June 1, 2011 and May 31, 2012.  Submissions must be received by June 15, 2012.

CJA is the national not-for-profit body formed to encourage, promote, represent and influence policies as they relate to chess journalism.  Membership is open to everyone, not necessarily only chess journalists, at an annual membership fee of $10.  Award winners are presented with certificates and are acknowledged both in Chess Life and CJA's newsletter The Chess Journalist.  CJA's Annual Chess Journalism Awards are also open to anyone and there is an entry fee of $15 (which includes membership or renewal to CJA) for the first entry and an $8 fee for each subsequent entry. For the Best Book category, the entry fee is $25 per book (no CJA membership is included). CJA is online at, for additional information on the awards or in joining CJA, please contact CJA Awards Committee Chairman Joshua Anderson at or visit

If you want to apply, prepare one copy of each item you want judged (please note that books require 5 copies), a cover letter covering what sections you are submitting for and a check made out to CJA. Items should be sent to:
Joshua M. Anderson, 31 Summit Ave., Paoli, PA 19301. Phone 484-948-5692.

Award Categories 

Chess Journalist of the Year
Best Story of the Year
Best Chess Column
Best State Magazine/Newsletter
Best Book (paper-printed only; five copies required for judging)

Best Tournament Report Article

Best Editorial

Best Chess Magazine/Newsletter Layout

Best Recognition in Chess Advertising

Excellence in Chess Writing, Mainstream Media
Best Regular Newspaper Column
Best Regular Newspaper Article of Local Interest

The following categories are open to journalist and publications both in print and those found online.

Best Chess Photojournalism

Best Features Article
Best Instructive Lesson
Best Review
Best Humorous Contribution

Most Notable Achievement in Correspondence Chess
Best Historical Article
Best Interview
Best Chess Art
Best Analysis
Best Article for Children

The following categories are open only to online journalist and their websites.

Best [USCF] State Chapter Website
Best General Chess Website
Best Chess Blog

Have a look at what you've done during the last year for chess, it's likely you can apply for an award. And if you win, you will be recognized on the web and in the World's top chess magazine, Chess Life. It's worth it. In 2009 I was voted "Chess Journalist of the Year" and have also held the prestigious role of President of the organization until last year.

Good luck to all!

Posted by Chess Queen™ Alexandra Kosteniuk
12th Women's World Chess Champion
2009 CJA Journalist of the Year

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home