USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Monday, February 27, 2012

Mateusz Bartel’s hat-trick in Polish Chess Championships

Chess blog for latest chess news and chess trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2012

Hi everybody,

We have here the latest chess championship update from Poland Chess Championships for men and women were held concurrently from 18th to 26th February at the Hotel Novotel Centrum in Warsaw.

Grandmaster Mateusz Bartel, winner of the recent Aeroflot Open, rounded up a trifecta in the Polish Championships as he won his third consecutive national title (and 4th overall). Bartel was also champion in 2006, 2010 and 2011. An impressive feat having in mind that all top Polish players regularly competed.

In an interview for Chessdom after the victory at the Aeroflot Open, Bartel expressed his doubts about the success in Warsaw. But he said he will try his best and relied on a bit of luck.

Bartel shared the first place with the 2009-champion Bartlomiej Macieja but took the trophy on better tie-break score.
Update: A two games mini-match (25′ + 10″ per move) was played to decide the champion. In case of 1-1 Bartel’s better tie-break would guarantee the title. He won the first game, so the 2nd one was not necessary. GM Kamil Miton earned the bronze medal with 6.5 points.

In the Women Championship IM Iweta Rajlich and WGM Joanna Majdan-Gajewska shared the first place with 6.0 points each. Rajlich was declared champion on better tie-break. Last year champion WGM Jolanta Zawadzka finished clear third with 5.5 points.

Mateusz Bartel 

Men’s championship had a 9-round Swiss format with 24 players. Women’s championship was a 10-player round robin tournament.

Next event in Poland is Ferdynand Dziedzic Memorial on 4th March in Trzcianka.

Final standings (Men):1-2. GM Bartel Mateusz 2658 and GM Macieja Bartlomiej 2617 – 7.0
3. GM Miton Kamil 2623 – 6.5
4. GM Wojtaszek Radoslaw 2706 – 6.0
5. GM Moranda Wojciech 2568 – 5.5
6-10. GM Socko Bartosz 2636, IM Bulski Krzysztof 2523, GM Kempinski Robert 2610, IM Kuzmicz Krystian 2451 and GM Swiercz Dariusz 2583 – 5.0
11-13. GM Markowski Tomasz 2612, IM Hnydiuk Aleksander 2409 and IM Dragun Kamil 2420 – 4.5
14-18. GM Gajewski Grzegorz 2616, GM Mista Aleksander 2587, GM Jaracz Pawel 2542, FM Duda Jan-Krzysztof 2380 and FM Strzemiecki Zbigniew 2402 – 4.0
19-21. GM Tomczak Jacek 2543, IM Leniart Arkadiusz 2455 and GM Olszewski Michał 2539 – 3.5
22. IM Sieciechowicz Marcin 2459 – 3.0
23-24. IM Kolosowski Mateusz 2439 and IM Piorun Kacper 2520 – 2.0

Final standings (Women):
1-2. IM Rajlich Iweta 2428 and WGM Majdan-Gajewska Joanna 2387 – 6.0
3. WGM Zawadzka Jolanta 2358 – 5.5
4-7. WGM Jaracz Barbara 2281, WIM Worek Joanna 2234, WFM Kulon Klaudia 2238 and WGM Szczepkowska-Horowska Karina 2377 – 5.0
8. WFM Iwanow Anna 2180 – 3.5
9-10. Chrząszcz Malvina 2074 and WIM Matras-Clement Agnieszka 2305 – 2.0

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal blog at

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home