USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Saturday, September 18, 2010

GM Pawel Jaracz, WGM Monica Calzetta Ruiz are EU Chess Champions 2010

Alexandra Kosteniuk's Chess News & Trivia (c) 2010

WGM Monica Calzetta Ruiz

GM Pawel Jaracz

Hello Everyone,

The VI EU Chess Championship concluded recently (September 4-12, 2010) in Arvier, Italy. GM Pawel Jaracz won the title on better tie-break ahead of IM Sabino Brunello, GM Evgenij Agrest, GM Lexy Ortega, GM Miguel Llanes Hurtado and IM Clovis Vernay.

WGM Monica Calzetta Ruiz, who is part of the Spanish Chess Olympiad 2010 team is the women's EU Champion. She finished with 5.5 points to take top spot among women and overall make it to the tenth place.

Here is a nice Ruiz game that you can run in our pgnplayer or watch in flash below.

PGN: 1. e4 e6 2. d4 d5 3. Nd2 Nf6 4. e5 Nfd7 5. Bd3 c5 6. c3 Nc6 7. Ngf3 Qb6 8. O-O cxd4 9. cxd4 Nxd4 10. Nxd4 Qxd4 11. Nf3 Qb6 12. a3 Nc5 13. Bc2 a5 14. Qd4 a4 15. Be3 Bd7 16. Rac1 Be7 17. Rfd1 O-O 18. Ng5 h6 19. Nh7 Rfd8 20. Nf6+ Kh8 21. Qh4 Bf8 22. Rd4 Rac8 23. Rg4 g5 24. Rxg5 Bg7 25. Rxg7 1-0

You can find more details at the official website here.

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal blog at


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home