USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Monday, October 13, 2014

GM Ziaur Rahman is Bangladesh National Chess Champion for 13th Time!

Hello chess blog friends, chess in Bangladesh has progressed steadily with chess events and training witnessing improvement in the Asian country. GM Ziaur Rahman has just become the 40th Bangladesh National Chess Champion... for the 13th time!

GM Ziaur Rahman of Dhaka Mohammedan S.C. Ltd. remained unbeaten at the 40th Berger Paints National ‘A’ Chess Championship 2014 sponsored by Berger Paints Bangladesh Limited and Organised by Bangladesh Chess Federation which was held at the Media Centre of Bangladesh Olympic Association. 

Zia earned 11 points to clinch the title. He won it last in 2011 and first in 1988. GM Niaz Murshed of Dhaka Mohammedan was runners-up with 10 points. Defending champion GM Abdullah Al-Rakib of Bangladesh Navy was third followed by team-mate GM Enamul Hossain. Rakib and Enamul both earned 9½ points each.

According to tournament regulations they played play-off matches for the 3rd and 4th positions. Rakib won play-off matches by 1½-½ points. IM Minhazuddin Ahmed of Bangladesh Navy became 5th and his teammate FM Sk. Nasir Ahmed became 6th. Minhaz and Nasir both earned 8½ points each. Minhaz won against Nasir in play-off matches by 1½-½ points. Uten of Access Group became 7th with 7½ points. 

Masum Hossain of Fire Service & Civil Defense became 8th with 5½ points. FM Kh. Aminul Islam of Bangladesh Navy became 9th and FM Debaraj Chatterjee of Titas Club became 10th. Amin and Debaraj both earned 5 points each. In play-off match Amin got walk-over against Debaraj. CM Sohel Chowdhury of Leonine Chess Club became 11th with 3½ points, FM Rezaul Haque of Access Group became 12th with 3 points, Golam Mostafa Bhuiyan of Sonali Bank Sports & Recreation Club became 13th with 2½ points and CM Mahtabuddin Ahmed of Dhaka Mohammedan became 14th with 2 points. The event was held in all play all Round Robin League system and 14 players including 4 Grandmasters, 1 International Master, 4 FIDE Masters participated, according to a FIDE chess news update

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal chess blog
Don't miss Chess Queen™
YouTube Channel

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home