USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Monday, July 22, 2013

European Women's Chess Championship 2013 Begins in Belgrade

Alexandra Kosteniuk's Chess Blog for Daily Chess News and Trivia (c) 2013

Hi everyone, 

The European Women's Chess Championship 2013 is running in Belgrade, Serbia from July 22-August 4 with Valentina Gunina of Russia as the defending champion. 

The European Individual Women’s Championship was held for the first time in 2000, in Batumi, Georgia, city famous for many important chess events, as a 32-player knockout event. That year Natalia Zhukova defeated Ekatarina Kovalevskaya in the final with the result 2.5-1.5. Since 2001 the Tournament has had a Swiss system format, and apart from a short switch to a 12-round schedule in 2004-2005, was played with 11-round schedule. Three players won 2 crowns: Pia Cramling (2003 and 2010), Katerina Lahno (2005 and 2008) and Tatiana Kosintseva (2007 and 2009), and all three confirmed arrival in Belgrade.

The list of European Women’s Chess Champions is as follows:

2000: Natalia Zhukova (Ukraine)
2001: Almira Skirpchenko (Moldova)
2002: Antoaneta Stefanova (Bulgaria)
2003: Pia Cramling (Sweden)
2004: Alexandra Kosteniuk (Russia)
2005: Katheryna Lahno (Ukraine)
2006: Ekatarina Atalik (Turkey)
2007: Tatiana Kositnseva (Russia)
2008: Katheryna Lahno (Ukraine)
2009: Tatiana Kositnseva (Russia)
2010: Pia Cramling (Sweden)
2011: Viktorija Cmilyte (Lithuania)
2012: Valentina Gunina (Russia)

Stay tuned for updates via the official website.

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal chess blog
Don't miss Chess Queen™
YouTube Channel

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home