USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Thursday, June 13, 2013

Magnus Carlsen wins Chess Oscar for Fourth Time

Chess blog for latest chess news and chess trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2013

Hi everyone, 

Right after the pairings blitz at the Eighth Tal Chess Memorial opening ceremony on Wednesday, a short ceremony was held to award the Chess Oscar to World No. 1 Magnus Carlsen. Mark Glukhovsky, the editor-in-chief of "64" magazine, went to the stage to announce that actually nothing extraordinary has happened: the traditional prize Chess Oscar, established by the magazine, is again awarded to Magnus Carlsen! The Norwegian has been voted as the best player of 2012 by journalists and other chess players.

Carlsen has been awarded the Chess Oscar for the 4th time in a row. Carlsen remarked, "I think it's well-deserved."

Magnus Carlsen is now the challenger to reigning World Chess Champion Viswanathan Anand. The title match is scheduled to be held in Chennai in November. Carlsen has last year, among other events, won the 7th Tal Chess Memorial, surpassed Garry Kasparov's highest-ever rating, won the London Chess Classic and the Candidates.

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal blog at
Don't miss Chess Queen™
YouTube Channel

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home