USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Friday, May 17, 2013

Fide Chess Grand Prix in Thessaloniki from May 21

Chess blog for latest chess news and chess trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2013

Hi everyone, 

FIDE has announced the fourth stage of the Fide Chess Grand Prix Series to be held in Thessaloniki (Greece) between the 21st of May and 4th of June 2013. The 5-star Makedonia Palace Hotel and its owner, international business investor and philanthropist Ivan Savvidis, are Fide's sponsors for the 12-player Grand Prix Chess Tournament. The event is supported by well-known philanthropist Ivan Savvidi who wanted to bring an elite chess event to Greece. 

"As Fide has its principal secretariat in Athens, we are quite happy to have such an elite event in Greece. Additionally, the Greek Chess Federation is one of the most experienced and organized chess Federations in the world and their involvement in the organization of the event will be critical to its success,” said Fide president President Kirsan Iljumzhinov.

The opening ceremony will take place at the Makedonia Palace Hotel at Thessaloniki at 6.30 p.m. on 21st of May. The games start at 14:00h local time except the last round. The prize fund to be shared by the players in Thessaloniki is 170,000 EUR, while the organizer provides further 70,000 EUR to the accumulated prize fund for the overall Grand Prix series standings.

Participants include three former World Champions - Ruslan Ponomariov (Ukraine), Veselin Topalov (Bulgaria), Rustam Kasimdzhanov (Uzbekistan). GM Teimur Radjabov has withdrawn from the Thessaloniki Grand Prix for personal reasons and has been replaced by GM Etienne Bacrot from France. Official commentators are GM Ioannis Papaioannou and GM Stelios Halkias.

Time control: 120 minutes for the first 40 moves, 60 minutes for the next 20 moves and then each player will be allotted 15 minutes after the second time control and an increment of 30 seconds per move will be allowed from move 61 onwards.
The Grand Prix Series consists of six tournaments to be held over two years (2012-2013). 18 top players participate in 4 of these 6 tournaments. The winner and second placed player overall of the Grand Prix Series will qualify for the Candidates Tournament to be held in March 2014.

Bacrot Etienne FRA 2725
Caruana Fabiano ITA 2774
Dominguez Perez Leinier CUB 2723
Grischuk Alexander RUS 2779
Ivanchuk Vassily UKR 2755
Kamsky Gata USA 2741
Kasimdzhanov Rustam UZB 2699
Morozevich Alexander RUS 2760
Nakamura Hikaru USA 2775
Ponomariov Ruslan UKR 2742
Svidler Peter RUS 2769
Topalov Veselin BUL 2793

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal blog at
Don't miss Chess Queen™
YouTube Channel

Labels: , ,


  • At May 18, 2013 at 12:38 AM , Anonymous Jason Bourne said...

    Nice line-up, so is Carlsen not playing the Chess Grand Prix or Anand so does that mean that who ever of them loses the World Chess Championship won't play in the next cycle...

  • At May 19, 2013 at 7:57 AM , Anonymous Amrit Puri, Knights Chess Club, New Delhi said...

    Even if Topalov is in top three he will win the series and qualify an interesting prospect


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home