USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Saturday, July 14, 2012

Eric Hansen is Canada National Chess Champion 2012

Chess blog for latest chess news and chess trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2012

Hi everyone,

IM Eric Hansen has become the Canada Chess Champion 2012 after winning the tournament held from July 8-13 in Victoria, BC, Canada. The Championship was organised by Brian Raymer, Paul Leblanc, Roger Patterson. Chief Arbiter was IA Mark S. Dutton.
A total of 78 players competed in the Premier Section. Hansen also won $2,000 for the effort.

Final standings in Premier section:1. IM Eric Hansen - 7.5
2. GM Eugene Perelshteyn - 7.0
3-7. FM Richard Wang, GM Victor Mikhalevski, GM John Peter Fedorowicz, IM Steven C. Zierk and IM Edward Porper - 6.5
8-11. NM Howard Wu, FM John C. [Jack] Yoos, IM Leon Piasetski and FM Loren Brigham Laceste - 6.0 etc

The U2000 Section had 46 players. Robert North, Paul Leblanc, Yifei Han and Darren Bates shared the first place with 6.5 points each.

The U1600 Section had 32 players. Kajan Thanabalachandran and Kristijan Gjorgjevik shared the first place with 7 points each.

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal blog at

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home