USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Philippines' GM Oliver Barbosa Wins Odisha GM Chess Open

Chess blog for latest chess news and chess trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2012

Hi everyone,

Barbosa from Philippines has won the fourth Odisha International GM Open Chess Tournament in Bhubaneswar, India. In photo above, National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) Chairman/President Prospero "Butch" Pichay Jr. congratulates Barbosa in an earlier victory also in India. In photo are, from left, GM Mark Paragua, NCFP Executive Director GM Jayson Gonzales, Barbosa, Pichay, GM John Paul Gomez and NCFP Treasurer Red Dumuc. Barbosa defeated overnight leader Russian GM Nikolai Chadaev in the eighth round and drew his last two games to win the title. The Taytay, Rizal native won about US$3,740. Barbosa and two other Philippine GMs are schedule to participate in the “5th Mayor’s Cup International Open Chess Tournament Mumbai” on June 7 to 15 in Mumbai, India.

Final Standings:
8.5 points-GM Oliver Barbosa (Philippines)
8.0 points-GM Nikolai Chadaev (Russia), IM Sahaj Grover (India), GM Hoang Thanh Trang (Hungrary), GM Evgeniy Podolchenko (Belarus), IM Suri Vaibhav (India)
7.5 points-IM Vishnu Prassana V (India), GM Andrei Deviatkin (Russia), IM Das Debashis (India), GM John Paul Gomez (Philippines), GM Aleksej Aleksandrov (Belarus), GM Deepan Chakkaravarthy J (India), IM Ramnath Bhuvanesh R (India)
7.0 points-GM Mark Paragua (Philippines), GM Deep Sengupta (India), Himail Gusain (India), IM Venkatesh MR (India), FM Gosh Diptayan (India), FM Rajesh VAV (India), GM Laxman RR (India), IM Priyadharshan K (India), IM Anita Gara (Hungrary), WGM Meenakshi Subbaraman (India), Arun Karthik R (India).

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal blog at

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home