USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Saturday, October 29, 2011

European team chess championship begins Nov 2

Chess blog for latest chess news and chess trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2011

Hi everyone,

One of the most-awaited team chess events is round the corner. The European Team Chess Championship will take place 2nd to 11th of November in Porto Carras, Greece. 38 countries participate in the open section, with 135 GMs and 175 titled players. The countries participating in the women section are 28, with 11 GMs, 40 WGMs, 27 IMs and a total of 123 players. You can access the official website for all the updates and right here at through the tournament. 

The European Team Championship will be held on the Swiss system in 9 rounds, with one open section and one section for the women’s teams, considered as separate competitions. According to ECU and FIDE rules, the time control will be 90 min for 40 moves + 30 min for the rest of the game + 30 sec increment for every move played starting from the first move.

The games of the European Team Chess Championships 2011 will take place in the Olympic Hall Congress Center (1500 sq. m.), within the 5-star Porto Carras Grand Resort. The luxury Porto Carras Grand Resort is situated in an enchantingly verdant landscape in Halkidiki, Greece.
Videos from the venue here

Past winners of the event

1957: USSR
1961: USSR
1965: USSR
1970: USSR
1973: USSR
1977: USSR
1980: USSR
1983: USSR
1989: USSR
1992: Russia
1997: England
1999: Armenia
2001: Netherlands
2003: Russia
2005: Netherlands
2007: Russia
2009: Azerbaijan

As seen above, up to 1992 the ETCC was always won by the ex-USSR but from 1997 the title has been won by other European countries as well: Russia, England, Armenia, Netherlands and Azerbaijan had all a “gold” title!

In the women’s event (it started in 1992) only Russia has won the title twice, and both of them in the last 2 events! All the past winners:

1992: Ukraine
1997: Georgia
1999: Slovakia
2001: France
2003: Armenia
2005: Poland
2007: Russia
2009: Russia

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal blog at

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home