USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Sunday, April 3, 2011

Commonwealth and South African Open Chess Championship from June 25-July 3

Chess blog for latest chess news and chess trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2011

Hi everyone,

The 2011 Commonwealth & South African Open Chess Championships will be conducted from Saturday June 25, 2011 until Sunday July 3, 2011.

The playing venue will be at the Emperors Palace Hotel Casino & Convention Resort in the City of Ekurhuleni in Gauteng, South Africa. Guaranteed total prize fund is R150 000 = aprox 15.000 EUR.

The Championships include the following three individual events:
- The 2011 Commonwealth & South African Open Chess Championships (Main event)
- The 2011 Commonwealth & South African Open B - section
- The 2011 South African Open Blitz Chess Championships

Each Commonwealth member country is invited to enter one man and one woman as official entrants into the 2011 Commonwealth & South African Open Chess Championships. Terms for the participation of official entrants will be announced on the tournament website as soon as possible.

Tournament rules:
- The Championship and B-section will be run under the FIDE Laws of Chess over 11 rounds.
- The SA Blitz Championships will be run under the FIDE Laws of Blitz Chess over 9 rounds.
- In order to improve the chances for participants to achieve FIDE norms and ratings, the draw for the Championship section may be accelerated at the discretion of the chief arbiter.

The rate of play for both the Championship and B section will be 90 minutes for the first 40 moves followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game with an addition of 30 seconds per move starting from move one. The rate of play for the Blitz Championships will be 5 minutes per player for all moves.

England's Grandmasters Nigel Short and Gawain Jones are currently top seeds in the main tournament.

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal blog at

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home