USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Thursday, June 3, 2010

Womens World Blitz Chess Championship 2010 - Qualification Tournaments

Dear all!

From September 15 to September 18, 2010 in Moscow, the FIDE Women's World Blitz Chess Championship 2010 will take place.

The Semi-Final tournament will take place on September 15-16 in Moscow. The following players have the right to play in the Semifinal:

Semi-Final tournament – without any limits of participants
Players representing the National Chess Federations and rated at least 2350 points
14 Players who took 2-15 places in the Moscow open 2010 (women’s section)
5 Players who took 1-5 places in the First On-Line Open Qualification Tournament
5 Players who took 1-5 places in the Second On-Line Open Qualification Tournament
10 Players nominees by the Organizer
6 Players nominees by the FIDE President

In order to qualify for the Semifinal one can participate in 2 on-line qualification tournaments which will take place:

Qualification rounds will take place on:

1. Saturday, June 19 at 16:00h CEST

2. Thursday, June 24, at 19:00h CEST.

Participants must submit their full names and the Federation for which they are playing.

Venue: Playchess server

There will be two more quarterfinals tournaments for the russian chess players, I will keep you posted about the exact dates and places.

The final tournament will take place on September 17-18. According to the regulations which can be found on the official FIDE web-site. The following players qualify for the final:

Final Format
Final tournament - 16 players
The Current Women’s World Chess Champion
The top 6 players in the rating list published on May 1, 2010.
6 winners of the Semi-Final
The winner of the Moscow-open 2010 (women’s section)
1 wild card by the Organizer (by May 1, 2010)
1 wild card by the FIDE President (by July 1, 2010)
In case someone withdraws or does not participate, from the point 3.2, through to 3.7, their rights go to the next highest rated players rated in the May 1, 2010 rating list.
If a qualified player withdraws before the Final starts, then the Organizer can replace with the next highest scoring player from the Semi Final.

According to this list, we already know that the following players have the right to play in the Final, here there are:

3.2 Alexandra Kosteniuk (current women's world chess champion)
3.3. Judith Polgar, Humpy Koneru, Hou Yifan, Antoaneta Stefanova, Nadezhda Kosintseva, Pia Cramling (top 6, on May 1, 2010)
3.4. The top 6 winners of the semifinal will be know on September 16.
3.5. Nazi Paikidze (winner of the women's moscow open 2010)
3.6. and 3.7 these wild-cards will be announced shortly

All the players who are willing to participate in the Final or Semifinal will need to confirm their particaption by July 1, 2010 by sending an email to the organizers.

Posted by: Alexandra Kosteniuk
Women's World Blitz Chess Champion



Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home