USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Monday, February 3, 2014

Africa Junior Chess Open 2014: IM Moheb Ameir, Caxito Esperanca Win

Chess Blog for Daily Chess News and Trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2014

Hello everyone,

Here's the latest chess tournament news update via FIDE: The African Junior U20 Open Chess Championship and African Junior U20 Girls’ Chess Championship (for the year 2013) were held on 25-31st January at Hotel Bouazza in Tiaret, Algeria. The Championships were organized by the Algerian Chess Federation (FADE), under the auspices of the African Chess Confederation and FIDE.

In accordance with FIDE regulations, entitled participants were those players born on or after 1st January 1993. The Algerian Chess Federation provided full board and lodging for two players, one boy and one girl, from each FIDE affiliated African National Federation.

The tournament was played in two sections – “Open” and “Girls”. The Open was a 9-round Swiss with 16 participants, while the Girls section was a 10-player round robin.

The 15-years old Esperanca Caxito from Angola destroyed the competition in the Girls section to take the gold medal with 8,5/9 points. According to the Regulations, Caxito will be awarded with a WIM title and WGM norm.

In the Open section IM Moheb Ameir from Egypt, earlier co-winner of the Arab Open U20 Championship, cruised to the victory without much obstruction. He concluded the event with 7,5/9 points, leaving the nearest followers a full point behind. Ameir will be awarded with a GM norm.

Final standings (Girls):

1. Caxito Esperanca ANG 1705 – 8.5
2. WCM Lalaoui Feriel ALG 1733 – 7
3. Hamlaoui Asma ALG 1630 – 6.5
4-6. Domingos Maria M ANG 1477, Tavares Domingas ANG 1506 and Oussedik Nassila ALG 1611 – 4.5
7. Ait Abbas Nesrine ALG 1420 – 3
8-9. Lahmar Chaima TUN 1525 and Yousfi Yasmine ALG 1621 – 2.5
10. Castro Neusa Aridas De MOZ 1462 – 1.5

Final standings (Open):
1. IM Ameir Moheb EGY 2291 – 7.5
2-3. CM Nader Mohamed EGY 2104 and Saim Mohamed Ilias ALG 1988 – 6.5
4-6. FM Bhawoodien Mohamed Ozayr RSA 1913, Meftahi Houssem TUN 1994 and Aguiar Cristiano ANG 1848 – 5.5
7-9. Willenberg Shane C. RSA 1893, Dias Vanderson ANG 2006 and FM Ouaret Abdelouhab ALG 1856 – 5
10. Araoun Saadi ALG 1580 – 4.5
11-12. CM Silvio Famorosa F ANG 1981 and Silva David ANG 2042 – 4
13-15. Alnami Salaheddin LBA 1843, Ben Ammar Mohamed TUN 0 and Sande Avertino MOZ 0 – 2
16. Ghafoul Said ALG 1851 – 1.5

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal chess blog 
Don't miss Chess Queen™
YouTube Channel

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home