USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Sunday, September 1, 2013

14th Karpov Chess Tournament begins in Poikovsky

Alexandra Kosteniuk's Chess Blog for Daily Chess News and Trivia (c) 2013

Hi everyone, 

The International Chess Tournament named after the former world champion Anatoly Karpov is taking place from 27th August to 7th September in Poikovsky, Russia. The tournament format is ten-player round robin. Evgeny Tomashevsky was invited to play, but after he qualified for the World Chess Cup semifinal, the organizers have replaced him with Alexander Motylev.

Ian Nepomniachtchi, Dmitry Jakovenko (Poikovsky winner in 2007 and 2012), Alexander Motylev, Ernesto Inarkiev (Russia), Pavel Eljanov (Ukraine), Viktor Laznicka (Czech Republic), Ivan Cheparinov (Bulgaria), Viorel Bologan (winner in 2000, 2001, 2005, Moldova), Alexander Onischuk (winner in 2002, USA) and Emil Sutovsky (Israel).

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal chess blog
Don't miss Chess Queen™
YouTube Channel



Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home