USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Joshua Friedel Wins 114th United States Open Chess Championship

Alexandra Kosteniuk's Chess Blog for Daily Chess News and Trivia (c) 2013

Hi everyone,

The 114th Annual United States Open Chess Championship took place on 27 July – 4 August 2013 at the Madison Marriott West, 1313 John Q Hammons Drive, in Middleton, Wisconsin.
The tournament was played as a single section with class prizes and a projected prize fund of $50,000. 519 players (with re-entries) competed in the merged event. Grandmaster Joshua Friedel won a tiebreak playoff against IM Mackenzie Molner to become the US Open Chess Champion. Friedel also qualified for the 2014 US Championship.

GM Josh Friedel

The U.S. Open Weekend Swiss was played on 27-28th July with 58 participants. IM Ronald Wayne Burnett (TN 2417) won with the perfect score 5,0/5. Prathib Yuvarajan (NJ 2181) was second with 4,5 points.

The U.S. Open Blitz Championship was held on 3rd August as a 7-round double Swiss (14 games). 117 players took part and the prize fund was set at $2000. L
ast year US Open Chess Champion GM Manuel Leon Hoyos (MO 2668) won convincingly with 13,0 points. GM Fidel Corrales Jimenez (MO 2653) finished second with 11,5 points. (

US Open final standings:

1-3. GM Sadorra Julio TX 2640, GM Friedel Joshua E WI 2595 and IM Molner Mackenzie AZ 2558 – 8,0
4-7. GM Lenderman Aleksandr NY 2665, GM Corrales Jimenez Fidel MO 2653, GM Chirila Ioan Cristian TX 2600 and GM Hungaski Robert NY 2541 – 7,5
8-21. GM Holt Conrad KS 2627, GM Ivanov Alexander MA 2622, GM Ghaem Maghami Ehsan CA 2604, GM Fedorowicz John P NY 2491, GM Martin-Del-Campo Roberto 2486, IM Mulyar Michael A CO 2481, FM Rosen Eric S-RE IL 2409, IM Watson John L CA 2358, WGM Baginskaite Camilla SD 2355, Schmakel Sam A IL 2346, Mo Kevin PA 2343, Aramil William James IL 2332, Li Ruifeng TX 2326, Haubrich Scott A WI 2044 – 7,0
22-47. GM Hoyos Manuel Leon MO 2668, FM Bryant John Danie CA 2527, IM Sarkar Justin NY 2527, IM Burnett Ronald Wayne TN 2417, Haskel Jeffrey FL 2370, Chakraborty Dipro AZ 2304, Feng Roland WA 2268, Iwu Okechukwu Anele Nneji MN 2264, Checa Nicolas De T NY 2241, Rubsamen Cornelius HI 2239, Rosenthal Nichola FL 2200, Auger Michael William IL 2192, WIM Yuvarajan Prathiba NJ 2181, Mattson Dane M WI 2169, Andrews Uri WI 2168, Cooklev Steven IN 2162, Rea Andrew B VA 2150, Tiglon Bryce WA 2142, Dejmek Mark W TX 2115, Jing Aaron WI 2111, Ukoli James O TX 2088, Cohen Jonathan D NJ 2066, Luo Brian J WI 2056, Gatica Jose Migue IA 2043, Stuart Zach NM 2033, Ewing Gabriel NM 1989 – 6,5 etc

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal chess blog
Don't miss Chess Queen™
YouTube Channel

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home