USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Saturday, August 17, 2013

Iraq Chess Championships 2013 Begin

Alexandra Kosteniuk's Chess Blog for Daily Chess News and Trivia (c) 2013

Hi everyone, 

We don't usually associate Iraq with chess. However, the country has chess players aplenty. The 2013 Iraqi Final Chess Championships for men and women are being held from 13th to 20th August in Baghdad. the Championships are organized by Dhafer Abdul and Ameer Madhloom. Arbiters are Saad Mohsin Hussein and Deniz Fayek Hassan.

The men's championship is 12-players round robin, while the women's championship is being played over nine rounds of Swiss system.

Participants (Men):
IM Noah A .H. Al-Ali 2398
IM Al-Saffar Araz Basim Mohammed 2372
FM Salih Akar Ali Salih 2304
FM Ahmed Ali Layth Ahmed 2299
CM Abaeji Sinan Younus Abdulrazz 2282
CM Mohammed Zozek Salah Mohammed 2272
CM Nameer Noor. Al-Deen 2268
CM Mohammed Arpak Worya 2263
FM Adil Ali Jalal 2226
FM Abdulwahhab Ahmed Abdulsattar 2219
CM Didar Mohammed Zhaher Hassan 2191
CM Ismael Namir Mohammed Ismael 2164

Participants (Women):
1 WIM Ibraheem Delbak Ismael Ibrahe 1912
2 WCM Al-Rajab Maha Layth Ismael 1831
3 WFM Jalaluldeen Kareen Kamal J. 1750
4 Muntaha Hussein Ali 1676
5 Nabaa Sami Abbas 1675
6 Al-Fayyadh Zainab Asif Abdula 1656
7 WFM Abdulzahra Sali Abbas 1579
8 Marwa Mohammed Khalaf 1541
9 Yamama Asif 1528
10 Amal Majid Khudhair 1446
11 WCM Feen Kamal 0
12 Enas Noori 0
13 Maryam Assif 0
14 Mina Wajdi Hussein 0
15 Riham Saad Mohsin 0
16 Ruwaida Saad Mohsin Al Naseri 0

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal chess blog 
Don't miss Chess Queen™
YouTube Channel



Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home