USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Saturday, July 6, 2013

More Chess News from Nepal: Madan Krishna Kayastha Wins NECOS Tournament

Chess Blog for Latest Chess News and Trivia (c) 2013

Hi everyone, 
More chess news from Nepal coming your way: Madan Krishna Kayastha of Golden Gate International College claimed the NECOS second Nationwide FIDE Rating Chess Tournament title here today.

Despite losing the 10th and final round to 1996-rated fellow collegemate and Candidate Master Rupesh Jaiswal, the 2092-rated Madan clinched the trophy after former Nepal champion Punya Man Karmacharya lost to Krishna Thapa of Gajurmukhi Chess Club.

Madan Krishna, who went to the final round as an undefeated player, accumulated 8.5 points to win a cash prize of Rs 50,000. Despite tying on eight points with Rupesh, the 2022-rated Krishna finished second on Sonneborn-Berger tie-break system and took home Rs 30,000, while Rupesh received Rs 18,000.

The 2104-rated FIDE Master Bilam Lal Shrestha finished fourth with 7.5 points after playing a draw with former Nepal champion Surbir Lama, a 2050-rated from Golden Gate, in the final round. Likewise, 2012-rated Niraj Niraula of Jhapa finished sixth with a win over former Nepal champion Badri Lal Nepal, the 2131-rated top seed rounding up one of his worst outings with a loss. Punya Man and 1945-rated Prakash Nepal of Jhapa, who beat 2002-rated Ganesh Man Duwal today, finished on seventh and eighth spots respectively.

Dharam Bahadur Lama (1974), FM Sujendra Prasad Shrestha (1925), Janardan Shrestha (2025), Naveen Tandukar (1974), Prem Krishna Maharjan (1979) and Shyam Sundar Shrestha (1924) secured top 14 spots with seven points each, while 1881-rated Bibek Thing ended up on 15th spot with 6.5 points.

Other winners included Binita Kapali (women), Nabin Jaiswal (college), Lava Kumar Shrestha (above -60yrs) and Nabaraj Humagain (unrated). Likewise, Rajendra Langwa (Mechi), Mani Raj Dangi (Koshi), Nabin Kumar Chaudhary (Sagarmatha), Himal Lama (Janakpur), Shyam Lal Das (Narayani), Bhagawati Prasad Sharma (Bagmati), Mohan Singh Pradhan (Gandaki), DB Karki (Dhaulagiri), Saurav Pradhan (Lumbini), Uttam Reule (Bheri), Dirgha Raj Joshi (Seti) and Bhim Dutta Pandey (Mahakali) were declared the zone winner.

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal chess blog
Don't miss Chess Queen™
YouTube Channel

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home