USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Wednesday, July 31, 2013

Fide Chess Year Celebrations List 2011-2016

Alexandra Kosteniuk's Chess Blog for Daily Chess News and Trivia (c) 2013

Hi everyone,

Here is a list of chess year celebrations' nomination list from 2011-2016 as announced by Fide.

Celebration Years – nominations 
The Presidential Board asked us to prepare a list of nominations for the next 5 years for "The year of …..". After considering various anniversaries it was decided to propose the following:
2011 Mikhail Botvinnik (World Champion 1948-1957, 1958-1960, 1961-1963) - 100 years anniversary of birth
2012 Bobby Fischer (World Champion 1972-1975) - 40 years anniversary of becoming World Champion
2013 Elisabeth Bykova (Women's World Champion 1953-1956, 1958-1962) - 100 years anniversary of birth
2014 Emanuel Lasker (World Champion 1894-1921) - 120 years anniversary of becoming World Champion
2015 Aron Nimzowitsch - 80 years since death
2016 Paul Keres - 100 years anniversary of birth

We decided to recommend 6 years ahead as 2016 seemed clear to us. --
 Ignatius Leong and David Jarrett
From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal chess blog 
Don't miss Chess Queen™



Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home