USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Thursday, January 10, 2013

Armenia National Chess Championship 2013 from Jan 11

Chess blog for latest chess news and chess trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2012

Hi everyone,

Tigran Petrosian, defending 2012 Armenia champion

This makes for a cool chess news post: All Armenia national chess champions from 2009 - 2012 are taking part in the Armenia national chess championship 2013. The Armenian Chess Championship 2013 will take place January 11-21, 2013. Ten of the strongest Armenian Grandmasters will compete in a round robin event for the title and a spot on the national team, according to a Chessdom news update.

All champions from 2009 to 2012 are participating in the competition. Top seeded is former European Blitz Champion Hrant Melkumyan. His main opponent is the defending Armenian chess champion from 2012 Tigran Petrosian. Third by rating is the 2011 Armenian champion Robert Hovhannisyan. Fourth seeded is the 2009 Armenia Champion Avetik Grigoryan.

The list of players is completed by GM Zaven Andriasian, GM Samvel Ter-Sahakyan, GM Tigran Kotanjian, IM Hovik Hayrapetyan, and FM Robert Aghasaryan.

Armenian chess champions

Here is the history of the Armenian chess championship. This year will be the 72nd editon of the tournament.

1956 Genrikh Kasparian
1957 Nikolay Miasnikov
1958 Eduard Mnatsakanian
1959 Eduard Mnatsakanian
1960 Eduard Mnatsakanian
1961 Vanik Zakarian, Artsrun Sargsian
1962 Eduard Mnatsakanian
1963 Adolph Demirkhanian
1964 Levon Grigorian
1965 Adolph Demirkhanian
1966 Levon Grigorian
1967 Eduard Mnatsakanian
1968 Levon Grigorian
1969 Levon Grigorian, Karen Grigorian
1970 Karen Grigorian
1971 Levon Grigorian
1972 Levon Grigorian, Karen Grigorian
1973 Albert Arutiunov
1974 Arshak Petrosian
1975 Vahagn Voskanian
1976 Arshak Petrosian, Vanik Zakarian, Gagik Akopian
1977 Albert Arutiunov
1978 Smbat Lputian
1979 Slavik Movsisian
1980 Smbat Lputian
1981 Vladimir Shaboian, Karen Movsisian
1982 Hrachik Tavadian
1983 Ashot Anastasian
1984 Vladimir Shaboian
1985 Ashot Anastasian
1986 Ashot Anastasian
1987 Ashot Anastasian
1988 Ashot Anastasian
1989 Armen Ambartsoumian
1990 Artashes Minasian
1991 Sergey Galdunts
1992 Ashot Anastasian, Artashes Minasian
1993 Artashes Minasian
1994 Ashot Anastasian
1995 Artashes Minasian
1996 Vladimir Akopian
1997 Vladimir Akopian
1998 Smbat Lputian
1999 Karen Asrian
2000 Gabriel Sargissian
2001 Smbat Lputian
2002 Levon Aronian
2003 Gabriel Sargissian
2004 Artashes Minasian
2005 Ashot Anastasian
2006 Artashes Minasian
2007 Karen Asrian
2008 Karen Asrian
2009 Arman Pashikian
2010 Avetik Grigoryan
2011 Robert Hovhannisyan
2012 Tigran L. Petrosian

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal blog at
Don't miss Chess Queen™  

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home