USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Armenia Chess Championships 2013: Tigran Petrosian, Anna Hairapetian Crowned Champions

Chess blog for latest chess news and chess trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2012

Hi everyone,

Here is the final chess update from the Armenia national chess championships of 2013. GM Tigran Petrosian has won the men's crown, and WIM Anna Hairapetian is the new women's champion. The Armenian Chess Championship was played January 11-21, 2013, in Yerevan. Tigran Petrosian, the reigning champion from 2012, confirmed his title after finishing clear first with 7,0/9.
It was one of the most exciting Armenian chess championships ever and it all came to a showdown in the last round. Tigran Petrosian had half a point advantage ahead of the 2010 champion Avetik Grigoryan, and Petrosian needed to defend his lead with the black pieces exactly against Grigoryan. Despite white having the initiative during the whole game, Petrosian held the attack and reaffirmed his title, according to a Chessdom update.

The victory gives Petrosian the highest national title and the right to participate in the Armenian national chess team together with Levon Aronian, Vladimir Akopian, Gabriel Sargissian, and Sergei Movsesian.

Final standings
1 GM Petrosian Tigran L. 7
2 GM Grigoryan Avetik 6.5
3 GM Hovhannisyan Robert 6.5
4 GM Andriasian Zaven 5
5 GM Pashikian Arman 4.5
6 IM Hayrapetyan Hovik 4.5
7 GM Ter-Sahakyan Samvel 4
8 GM Melkumyan Hrant 3.5
9 GM Kotanjian Tigran 2.5
10 FM Aghasaryan Robert 1

The women's section was won by the silver medalist from 2012 WIM Anna Hairapetian. She scored 7,0/9, half a point ahead of the surprise of the championship, the untitled Armine Babayan. Bronze is for WIM Gasparian, who finished with the same points as Armine Babayan, but worse tiebreak. The rating favorites WGM Doluhanova and WIM Andriasian remained 4th and 5th respectively.

Final standings
1 WIM Hairapetian Anna 7
2 Babayan Armine 6.5
3 WIM Gasparian Narine 6.5
4 WGM Doluhanova Evgeniya 5.5
5 WIM Andriasian Siranush 4.5
6 Karapetyan Lusine 4.5
7 Gasparian Mariana 4
8 WGM Movsisian Naira 3.5
9 Ghambaryan Hasmik 2.5
10 Mnatsakanyan Diana 0.5

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal blog at
Don't miss Chess Queen™  

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home