USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Italian Chess Championship 2012 Begins with Sabino Brunello as Top Seed

Chess blog for latest chess news and chess trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2012

Hi everyone,

The Italian Chess Championship 2012 has begun at the NH Hotel Ambasciatori (corso Vittorio Emanuele 104) in Torino on October 30. It will run till November 10, according to news sent by Chess Blog friend Adolivio Capece. The players include four GMs: Sabino Brunello, Alberto David, Carlos Garcia-Palermo and Michele Godena. Sabino Brunello, 23-years old, is the number two in the national elo list (1.10.2012) and the top seed in the Championship.

Results of Day 1
Bellini - Dvirnyy 1/2-1/2
Caprio - Brunello 1-0
Godena - David 1/2-1/2
Genocchio - Altini 0-1
Garcia Palermo - Denis Rombaldoni 1-0
Axel Rombaldoni - De Filomeno 1-0

Alberto David, who was born in Milano but moved to Luxembourg with the family when he was 10-years old, returned to Italy and to the Italian Chess Federation and is now number 3 in the national elo list (1.10.2012), only one point behind Brunello.

Carlos Garcia-Palermo (58) is the oldest player; everybody remembers that he defeated Bobby Fischer in a simultaneous exhibition in 1970. Michele Godena (45) is the five-time Italian champion, winning his first title 20 years ago in Reggio Emilia 1992/93.

There are six International Masters in the competition: Fabio Bellini (43, Italian champion in 1999), Daniele Genocchio (31), Daniyyl Dvirnyy (22, last year he was second behind Caruana), Guido Caprio (only 18) and the two brothers Rombaldoni, Denis (23) and Axel (20, he already got two GM norms). The field is completed with the two young players, both 17 and both Fide Masters: Simone De Filomeno and Nicola Altini. The arbiters are IA Marco Santandrea from Milano and FA Roberto Ricca from Torino. Results, standing, bulletin on the web site

The four-time champion Fabiano Caruana – winner in 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2011 (in 2009 he didn’t play) – will not participate because he will play the Kings Tournament in Bucharest and then FIDE Grand Prix in Tashkent.

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal blog at
Don't miss Chess Queen™
YouTube Channel



Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home