USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Remembering the eighth world chess champion - GM Mikhail Tal

Chess blog for latest chess news and chess trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2011

Hi everyone,

Mikhail Tal (November 9, 1936 – June 28, 1992) was the great Soviet-Latvian grandmaster who became the eighth World Chess Champion and was known as 'The Magician from Riga' for his very attacking chess. Both The Mammoth Book of the World's Greatest Chess Games (Burgess, Nunn & Emms 2004) and Modern Chess Brilliancies (Evans 1970) include more games by Tal than any other player. Tal was also a highly-regarded chess writer; his professional career was that of a chess journalist.

The Mikhail Tal Memorial is held in Moscow each year since 2006 to honour his memory. He holds the records for both the first and second longest unbeaten streaks in competitive chess history.

The 6th Mikhail Tal Memorial will take place from 16th to 25th November at the Pashkov House, Vozdvizhenka 3/5 in Moscow, Russia. Ten of the world’s top players will compete in the round robin tournament. The average elo as of 23rd September is 2775.

  • Viswanathan Anand (India) – World Champion and winner of the recent Botvinnik Memorial
  • Magnus Carlsen (Norway) – currently topping the FIDE elo list, this year winner in Biel and co-winner in Bazna Kings
  • Levon Aronian (Armenia) – World team champion with Armenia
  • Vladimir Kramnik (Russia) – Former World Champion, recently winner of the super tournament in Dortmund
  • Sergey Karjakin (Russia) – Co-winner in 2011 Bazna Kings
  • Vassily Ivanchuk (Ukraine) – Winner of 2011 Capablanca Memorial, bronze medalist of the 2011 World Cup, World Championship Candidate
  • Hikaru Nakamura (USA) – Winner of 2011 Tata Steel in Wijk aan Zee
  • Boris Gelfand (Israel) – Winner of the Candidate Matches, World Championship finalist
  • Peter Svidler (Russia) – Six-times Russian champion, winner of the World Cup, World Championship Candidate
  • Ian Nepomniachtchi (Russia) – 2010 European and Russian champion

Mikhail Tal Memorial, winners of the previous editions:
2006Levon Aronian, Peter Leko, Ruslan Ponomariov – 5½ /9
2007Vladimir Kramnik 6½ /9
2008Vassily Ivanchuk 6 /9
2009Vladimir Kramnik 6½ /9
2010Levon Aronian, Sergey Karjakin, Mamedyarov – 5½ /9
From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal blog at



Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home