USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Saturday, April 23, 2011

Asian cities team chess championship begins with 24 teams

Chess blog for latest chess news and chess trivia (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2011

Indonesian dancers at the opening ceremony.

Hello everybody,

The 17th Asian Cities Team Chess Championship has begun with 24 teams in Jakarta, Indonesia. The tournament runs from April 21-29 and is being hosted by Indonesian Chess Federation (PERCASI).

Top seed is the Chinese city of Shi Jiazhuang followed by the Philippine city of Tagaytay, Astana (KAZ), Tehran (IRI), Jakarta (INA), Bangalore (IND), Palembang (INA), Baghdad (IRQ), Yangon (MYA), Sydney (AUS), Abu Dhabi (UAE), Mashhad (IRI), Tarakan (INA), Dubai (UAE), Penang (MAS), Singapore (SIN), Sharjah (UAE), Bandar Seri Begawan (BRU), Hongkong (HKG), Seoul (KOR), Kathmandu (NEP), Erdenet (MGL), Pekanbaryu (INA) and Putrajaya (MAS).

In the strong field are 18 Grandmasters, 2 WGMs, 11 IMs and 1 WIM. The tournament is a 9 round Swiss system. At stake is the Dubai Cup sponsored by the Dubai Sports Council and a total of $24,000 in cash prizes. You can visit the official website or track results at

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal blog at

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home