USA's Top Daily Chess News Blog, Informative, Fun, and Positive

hosted by Chess Queen™ & 12th Women's World Chess Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk


Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Chess Oscar 2009 goes to Magnus Carlsen

Chess news and chess trivia blog (c) Alexandra Kosteniuk, 2010

Find super photos of Magnus Carlsen at

Hi Everyone,

As you know the World Blitz Chess Championship started in Moscow today. Just before the beginning of the Championship, the Chess Oscar for 2009 was presented to World No. 1 (live ratings) Magnus Carlsen by the chief editor of '64-Chess Review'.

This is Magnus Carlsen's first Chess Oscar. The first Chess Oscar had gone to Bent Larsen and Gary Kasparov has the maximum statuettes - 11!

Chess Oscar is an international award given to the best chess player every year. The winner is selected by a poll of chess experts across the world, including Grandmasters. The award comprises a bronze statuette titled 'The Fascinated Wanderer'.

The award had its genesis in 1967 with journalists accredited at chess events voting for the best grandmaster. The awards were given away uninterrupted until the year 1988. The award resumed in 1995. Since then, it has been coordinated by the Russian chess magazine 64. The Chess Oscar is highly regarded in the chess community, as it indicates a premier degree of peer recognition. You can find more details here.

From Alexandra Kosteniuk's
Also see her personal blog at

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home